AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: HELP - Processor upgrade not recognized
Topic Summary: HP Pavillion not recognizing new Phenom II processors
Created On: 11/15/2010 03:03 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/15/2010 03:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mnmtb
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/15/2010

Through my own fault, I crushed some pins on my Phenom II 910. It was OEM on an HP PAvillion e9120F.

I then purchased a BlackBox 965 but when I installed the boot up would stop at: "Unrecognized Processor, powering down..." I thought since the old processor was a 95W and the 965 was 125 I dtched that idea.

I then purchased a 910e, 65W. Same unrecognized processor issue.

Motherboard Info:
.Manufacturer's motherboard name: Pegatron M2N78-LA
.HP/Compaq name: Violet3-GL8E

Processor Upgrade Info (from HP)
Socket type: AM3
TDP: 95 watt
Motherboard supports the following processor upgrades
.AMD Phenom II X4 9xx/9xxe/8xx Quad-Core (Deneb)
.AMD Phenom II X3 7xx/7xxe Triple-Core (Heka)
.AMD Phenom II X2 5xx (Callisto)
.AMD Athlon X4 6xx/6xxe (Propus)
.AMD Athlon X3 4xx/4xxe (Rana)
.AMD Athlon X2 2xx/2xxe (Regor)

It seems I need to upgrade BIOS, but since The old processor is unuseable I really need some help. Will a CMOS clear help?


Thanks in advance.
 11/15/2010 06:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

No, it won't help.

If you need to upgrade bios to support your new CPU then you need to have a supported CPU installed to be able to flash the bios.

After flashing you can swap CPU, do a clear CMOS and then it should boot.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 11/15/2010 07:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mnmtb
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/15/2010

Originally posted by: mnmtb

Through my own fault, I crushed some pins on my Phenom II 910. It was OEM on an HP PAvillion e9120F.



I then purchased a BlackBox 965 but when I installed the boot up would stop at: "Unrecognized Processor, powering down..." I thought since the old processor was a 95W and the 965 was 125 I dtched that idea.



I then purchased a 910e, 65W. Same unrecognized processor issue.



Motherboard Info:

.Manufacturer's motherboard name: Pegatron M2N78-LA

.HP/Compaq name: Violet3-GL8E



Processor Upgrade Info (from HP)

Socket type: AM3

TDP: 95 watt

Motherboard supports the following processor upgrades

.AMD Phenom II X4 9xx/9xxe/8xx Quad-Core (Deneb)

.AMD Phenom II X3 7xx/7xxe Triple-Core (Heka)

.AMD Phenom II X2 5xx (Callisto)

.AMD Athlon X4 6xx/6xxe (Propus)

.AMD Athlon X3 4xx/4xxe (Rana)

.AMD Athlon X2 2xx/2xxe (Regor)



It seems I need to upgrade BIOS, but since The old processor is unuseable I really need some help. Will a CMOS clear help?





Thanks in advance.





I switched the jumper to clear the CMOS earlier but still get the same Unsupported CPU notice.

Of some note, is that I do get the HP splash with the F-key options. I tries to press F11 to get into the setup. I saw the BIOS screen flash by very quickly but then the black screen with unsupported CPU notice.

Also, I do not get any beeps when powering on but all lights and drives are operable (meaning I can open and close but that is it)

Any suggestions? Thanks
 11/15/2010 11:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Deprecated

Posts: 279
Joined: 06/29/2010

can you gentley strighten the pins on the old processor . you will have to reinstall it to update the bios.
or you may be able to send the mother board in to hp for bios update. might cost more than a new board though.

-------------------------
gigabyte ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios f8h,
cpu amd 965-c3 @4.0, silenX efz120ha4 cooler
8gigs patriot memory pgs34g1600llka (1333 cl7), xfx 6970 gpu, xfx 750w power supply.
windows 7 -64
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information