AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: sempron bios
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/27/2005 05:23 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/27/2005 05:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TIG
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/02/2005

hi all, i had a packard bell i-media pc and the athlon xp cpu burnt out so i have bought an sempron 2600. now the bloke who sold it me said that it would show up smaller then 2.6 and this is true it shows up as athlon xp 1.7+, he told me i need to flash the bios to get this up yo its full speed. is this true and if so where and how do i update the bios? thank guys...
 12/27/2005 07:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marcus_667
Senior Member

Posts: 780
Joined: 09/26/2005

if its a socket 754 sempron 64 bit u need an entirely new motherboard, im sure if you post the cpu number so we can identify it that will help cos if its socket 754 it wont work with the board u got at ll and means youll have to buy a new one but theres some decent boards for the money

-------------------------
First rig: Intel core 2 qx6700@ 3.5 gHz|ge-force 8800gtx sli|3 gig gskill ram|750 gig seagate and a 150 gig raptor | anted ninehundred case| enermax galaxy 1kw psu | dell 3007

Second Rig: Amd Athlon X2 6000+ | 8800 gtx|wd raptor 74 and a 320 seagate | 2 gig ram|sb x-fi | seasonic m12 700watt | coolermaster stacker 830 black | dell 2407
 12/27/2005 10:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

it could be a Socket A Sempron.

you need to find out what kind of motherboard you have.
manufacturer and model number/name

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 12/28/2005 03:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TIG
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/02/2005

its a socket 'a' 2600 sempron and the board is a msi ms-6786
 12/28/2005 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

QUOTE(TIG @ Dec 28 2005, 03:56 PM)its a socket 'a' 2600 sempron and the board is a msi ms-6786
[right][snapback]577356[/snapback][/right]


there doesn't seem to be a ms-6786
find out for sure using everest home http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html' ">http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4181.html
then go here and click on your motherboard http://www.msi.com.tw/program/.../mai...7&NAME=Archives' ">http://www.msi.com.tw/program/...&CHIP=17&NAME=Archives

then click on the CPU Support link on the lelf menu to see what your motherboard supports.

also get the latest bios while yer there.

hope this helps

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 12/30/2005 12:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mikehd
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/30/2005

Since the OP states that his machine is a Packard Bell, I'm betting it has a custom BIOS that MSI will not support.

I would recommend going to Packard Bell's support page to see if this model has a newer BIOS available to enable support for the Sempron. You might get lucky, but don't be surprised if an updated BIOS is not available.
 01/01/2006 10:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
waitingforan_alibi
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/30/2005

i m having the same sort of problem - my sempron 2500+ is being quoted as an athlon 1050hz in the bios. my mobo is a pcchips M810LR (socket A) but i cant seem to find a bios update so that it will read it as a sempron....any suggestions?
 01/01/2006 07:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jack1314
Senior Member

Posts: 487
Joined: 10/05/2004

QUOTE(waitingforan_alibi @ Jan 1 2006, 03:30 PM)i m having the same sort of problem - my sempron 2500+ is being quoted as an athlon 1050hz in the bios. my mobo is a pcchips M810LR (socket A) but i cant seem to find a bios update so that it will read it as a sempron....any suggestions?
[right][snapback]580952[/snapback][/right]


m810LR XP V7.1A Supports upto athlon xp2200+( not thoroughbred core)/Duron upto 1.2Ghz
m810LR V8.0 Supports Athlon 750mhz- 1ghz/Duron 600mhz-700mhz
Suggest you buy new mobo

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3000+
2 x 512mb pc2700
Nvidia Geforce4 440 GO 64mb
NEC DVD +/- RW ND-6450A
Windows xp pro
 01/01/2006 09:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

Ok for one with OEM computers your best bet is to find a replacement CPU that fried. XP chips are getting harder to find but still availble from many e-retailers, newegg has them last i checked, also many computer stores still have a few OEM chips for sale. I would suggest selling that sempron back anc buying an XP chip, for one they are better CPU's. The other thing you can do is adjust your FSB for the right speed the Sempy 2600 gives, even read wrong the prefomance is the same. The only diff from a Sempy and an XP is Id string. Both T-Bred XP's had 256K L2 and all Sempy are T-Bred B's with 256K L2 so it really is an XP chip with a modded id string. I ran a Sempy 2200 that said it was a 1800+ just fine, it sai that because the same XP 1800+ is identacal to a Sempy 2200

-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
 01/07/2006 05:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Correct speed for a socket A Sempron 2600 - 11x166~1833MHz.

Socket A Sempron 2500 - 10.5x166~1750MHz.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information