AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Upgrade Athlon XP to Athlon 64
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/12/2006 10:52 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/12/2006 10:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rbullard
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/12/2006

Hello,

I am a new to this forum and somewhat of a novice. I purchased a Compaq Presario SR1230NX, with an Athlon XP (3200+) processor 2.20 GHz, 400MHz FSB, 1 Gig Ram, (ACPI\PNP0C02 motherboard I think?) about 14 months ago. I work with digital images, drawings, MS Office suite and hobby with music & video. I just loaded Adobe Photo Elements and tried to load Premiere Elements, but got the error that the processor could not support SSE2 (and what does that mean?). Will the architecture of this motherboard support an AMD 64 or Opteron Processor? If so, is it cost effective to replace the chip or purchase a new CPU?

Thanks in advance for any constructive advice!
 02/12/2006 11:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rbullard
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/12/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: aeconbob
Hello,

I am a new to this forum and somewhat of a novice. I purchased a Compaq Presario SR1230NX, with an Athlon XP (3200+) processor 2.20 GHz, 400MHz FSB, 1 Gig Ram, (ACPI\PNP0C02 motherboard I think?) about 14 months ago. I work with digital images, drawings, MS Office suite and hobby with music & video. I just loaded Adobe Photo Elements and tried to load Premiere Elements, but got the error that the processor could not support SSE2 (and what does that mean?). Will the architecture of this motherboard support an AMD 64 or Opteron Processor? If so, is it cost effective to replace the chip or purchase a new CPU?

Thanks in advance for any constructive advice!




I am now aware that the mother board is a A7V8X-LA, Asus. Sorry for the confussion I tied to access the information through the control panel instead of opening the CPU and looking for the markings.

Thanks,
 02/12/2006 11:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

sse2 is not available in any socket A..
ull have to switch to amd64..

-------------------------
 02/13/2006 08:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
atpat
Member

Posts: 21
Joined: 02/08/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: aeconbob
Will the architecture of this motherboard support an AMD 64 or Opteron Processor? If so, is it cost effective to replace the chip or purchase a new CPU?


You won't be able to use your existing motherboard for a 64 or an Opteron because they come in different packages from the XP, which goes in "Socket A". The 64 is Socket 754 or Socket 939 and I think Opterons are all S939.

As I understand it, Socket A is now on the way out, although the AMD Sempron is apparently still available for it up to the 3000+ model. According to AMD, the Asus A7V8X-X will support Socket A Semprons, but strangely your A7V8X-LA is not mentioned on the Asus website and none of the information there about the A7V8X variants mentions the Sempron. Therefore it may not work, but others may be able to correct me on this.

Anyway, the way of the future would seem to be 64-bit, and, assuming that nagaty_h is right and if you can afford it then I think you should go for a new motherboard and a 64 or Opteron. I've just been looking into the 64, and am intending to get a 3700+ (Socket 939 "San Diego" version) and either an Abit KN8 Ultra or an MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum.

-------------------------
- Tony
 02/13/2006 09:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Prelude76
Senior Member

Posts: 3366
Joined: 02/01/2005

cost effective-wise, you're in luck. That CPU (3200+ Barton AthlonXP) is selling well on ebay, averaging around $180 USD. The motherboard you may get $20 for tops, so its a bit of waste, but you'd have around $200 to upgrade motherboard + CPU to Athlon64. I'm assuming that's DDR400 RAM, so that an be carried over as well, and I figure its an AGP video card in there too?

With Athlon64 3200+ going for about $170, http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16819103535 , your only real cost in upgrading would be motherboard + installation. just make sure your video card could be carried over (i.e. AGP slot).
 02/13/2006 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: atpat I think Opterons are all S939.
there are 939 and 940 opterons, so take care if you buy an opteron to get the right one..

if youre moving to amd64, i suggest 939

754:
>sempron
>a64 up to 4000+

939:
>sempron (oem)
>a64 up to 4000+
>a64 x2 up to 4800+
>a64 fx up to fx-60
>opteron

940:
>opteron
requires registered memory

-------------------------
 02/13/2006 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rbullard
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/12/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: nagaty_h
there are 939 and 940 opterons, so take care if you buy an opteron to get the right one..

if youre moving to amd64, i suggest 939

754:
>sempron
>a64 up to 4000+

939:
>sempron (oem)
>a64 up to 4000+
>a64 x2 up to 4800+
>a64 fx up to fx-60
>opteron

940:
>opteron
requires registered memory




I want to thank everyone for your timely and helpful responses. Are there any sugestions for a dependable motherboard?

Thanks,
 02/14/2006 09:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Prelude76
Senior Member

Posts: 3366
Joined: 02/01/2005

see, typically, its best to go with a very good board like the DFI Ultra-D, and then get a PCI-E card with it, but thats a fairly hefty upgrade, and not what you need. You simply want to upgrade to SSE2, but its not good to lock yourself into an AGP board, or a socket 754 board.

so if you sell that 3200+ Barton-core ($170 to $200 on ebay), use that cash to get your Athlon64 socket 939 cpu (3000+ or 3200+ venice-core), the board is only thing that will cost you, and since you dont do gaming, this might be your best bet:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16813138264

This Biostar board has built-in nvidia 6100 video, which is weak for gaming, but good enuf for your applications, but best of all, there is a PCI-Express slot which you can use in the future once those amazing 7800 video cards drop in price to a reasonable level. And the Biostar is also well know for overclocking options, and since nearly all 3000+ and 3200+ Athlon64s can be pushed to about 3800+ or higher levels, you can get into that later down the road to get more life outta the chip, although even at stock, these cpus fly.

add in built-in 10/100 LAN, onboard sound, 4x IDE, 2x SATA-2, 8x USB2.0, 2 PCI slots, and 4 RAM slots, and that's pretty much every feature you need is on this board.

those are all the pros, plus its only $70. the cons are its a Biostar. some like the boards, but quality wise, its not the best brand.

other route is going with the best board, the http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16813136152 DFI Ultra-D, for $130, but it doesnt have video card, so you're looking at another $100 to $200 for a PCI-E video card on top of that. it may be more expensive, but it may be less headache and definately better quality than a biostar for $70.
 02/14/2006 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rbullard
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/12/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Prelude76
see, typically, its best to go with a very good board like the DFI Ultra-D, and then get a PCI-E card with it, but thats a fairly hefty upgrade, and not what you need. You simply want to upgrade to SSE2, but its not good to lock yourself into an AGP board, or a socket 754 board.

so if you sell that 3200+ Barton-core ($170 to $200 on ebay), use that cash to get your Athlon64 socket 939 cpu (3000+ or 3200+ venice-core), the board is only thing that will cost you, and since you dont do gaming, this might be your best bet:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16813138264

This Biostar board has built-in nvidia 6100 video, which is weak for gaming, but good enuf for your applications, but best of all, there is a PCI-Express slot which you can use in the future once those amazing 7800 video cards drop in price to a reasonable level. And the Biostar is also well know for overclocking options, and since nearly all 3000+ and 3200+ Athlon64s can be pushed to about 3800+ or higher levels, you can get into that later down the road to get more life outta the chip, although even at stock, these cpus fly.

add in built-in 10/100 LAN, onboard sound, 4x IDE, 2x SATA-2, 8x USB2.0, 2 PCI slots, and 4 RAM slots, and that's pretty much every feature you need is on this board.

those are all the pros, plus its only $70. the cons are its a Biostar. some like the boards, but quality wise, its not the best brand.

other route is going with the best board, the http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16813136152 DFI Ultra-D, for $130, but it doesnt have video card, so you're looking at another $100 to $200 for a PCI-E video card on top of that. it may be more expensive, but it may be less headache and definately better quality than a biostar for $70.



Looks like I need to think about my options and weigh the life cycle cost and guess at the rate of feature advancements. I really appreciate the information.
 02/14/2006 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zangarath
Member

Posts: 56
Joined: 12/07/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: nagaty_h
sse2 is not available in any socket A..
ull have to switch to amd64..



I believe an Opteron that is not S939 or S940 would have it. According to my knowledge, Athlon XPs do have SSE, but I don't know about SSE2. An Athlon 64 would be your best bet, but that would require a hefty and expensive upgrade.

quote:

Originally posted by: Prelude76
see, typically, its best to go with a very good board like the DFI Ultra-D, and then get a PCI-E card with it, but thats a fairly hefty upgrade, and not what you need. You simply want to upgrade to SSE2, but its not good to lock yourself into an AGP board, or a socket 754 board.

so if you sell that 3200+ Barton-core ($170 to $200 on ebay), use that cash to get your Athlon64 socket 939 cpu (3000+ or 3200+ venice-core), the board is only thing that will cost you, and since you dont do gaming, this might be your best bet:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16813138264

This Biostar board has built-in nvidia 6100 video, which is weak for gaming, but good enuf for your applications, but best of all, there is a PCI-Express slot which you can use in the future once those amazing 7800 video cards drop in price to a reasonable level. And the Biostar is also well know for overclocking options, and since nearly all 3000+ and 3200+ Athlon64s can be pushed to about 3800+ or higher levels, you can get into that later down the road to get more life outta the chip, although even at stock, these cpus fly.

add in built-in 10/100 LAN, onboard sound, 4x IDE, 2x SATA-2, 8x USB2.0, 2 PCI slots, and 4 RAM slots, and that's pretty much every feature you need is on this board.

those are all the pros, plus its only $70. the cons are its a Biostar. some like the boards, but quality wise, its not the best brand.

other route is going with the best board, the http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16813136152 DFI Ultra-D, for $130, but it doesnt have video card, so you're looking at another $100 to $200 for a PCI-E video card on top of that. it may be more expensive, but it may be less headache and definately better quality than a biostar for $70.



I suggest getting an MSI nboard myself. More technical details will be needed in order to tell you what parts can be carried over to the new board. Seeing as how you aren't doing a whole lot, it would be best to get socket 754. You can use your socket A machine as a server or something until it dies, or sell the parts.


-------------------------
AMD Sempron 3300+ 2.2 GHz; 512K
EPoX EP-8KRAI Pro, Award BIOS
Eagle Tech Sidewinder mid tower
Thermaltake Purepower 500W PSU
nVidia GeForce 7600GS 256MB, AGP 8x
onboard VIA Rhine II 10/100
Sound Blaster Live 24-bit; Logitech Z-4 2.1 speakers
 02/15/2006 07:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Prelude76
Senior Member

Posts: 3366
Joined: 02/01/2005

how much do you save going socket 754? with an Athlon3000+ cpu? $20? $30 at most? its not worth losing out on dual channel RAM, SLI options, Dual core options, FX cpu options, just for $20. Sure, he could save a bundle getting S754 with like a Sempron 2600+, but thats a big DOWNGRADE from an AthlonXP 3200+, the king of Socket A.

and i'm selling a 3200+ barton CPU right now on ebay, and bidding is over $180USD with 4 days left. that will more than cover his upgrade to at least an Athlon64 socket939 3200+. Its just the board and/or video card that will cost him, depending on what he chooses.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information