AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Normal Operating temperature
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/13/2005 08:08 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/13/2005 08:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
martincregg
Lurker

Posts: 12
Joined: 09/10/2005

What's the normal operating temperature for AMD Athlon 64 3200. It is fitted with the stock heatsink and fan. No programs are currently running. I am monitoring with ASUS Probe 2 Utility program and seeing 40 deg C (104F). Is this OK?
 09/13/2005 11:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moose64
Senior Member

Posts: 836
Joined: 03/26/2005

QUOTE(martincregg @ Sep 13 2005, 08:08 AM)What's the normal operating temperature for AMD Athlon 64 3200. It is fitted with the stock heatsink and fan. No programs are currently running. I am monitoring with ASUS Probe 2 Utility program and seeing 40 deg C (104F). Is this OK?
[right][snapback]501810[/snapback][/right]

As long it dont go over 60C when you have a load on it and it runs stable it ok but 40C with nothing go on is a little high but as long as it running good it fine. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 ,Xeon x3360
Cooler Master COSMOS Case,
4G OCZ DDR3 1600 2x2G 7.6.6.24 @2T
HIS 3870x2
WD 150G Raptor x2 0Raid & WD 250G Storage Drive.
Antec Quattro 1000Watt PS
Vista 64Bit.
 09/13/2005 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
varianiv
Senior Member

Posts: 1254
Joined: 11/22/2004

I can't remember who said it, but there is a guy in these forums who made a very good point when he said: "As long as it's stable, it isn't too hot."

Enough said.

But moose64 is right. As long as your temps don't exceed about 60 degrees C at any point in time you are fine. Your computer is supposed to reset itself at 65C, but is more likely to completely freeze up (read: no three-finger-salute; you have to press the reset button in order to reboot).

This is so that you don't fry your CPU when overheating. But 40C is not too hot by any means. I usually idle between 30-35, and get somewhere around 44-52 at full load, depending on how intensive the work is and how long I run it like that. Hard to believe that Serious Sam: The Second Encounter will heat my computer up hotter than Half-Life 2, huh?

Hope all this helps. /cool.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='cool.gif' />

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE (2.7GHz @ 1.35v)
DFI CFX3200-DR (07/28)
Kingston HyperX DDR500 (3-3-3-8-1T)
Asus Dark Knight Radeon 4870 1GB
Audigy 2
2x 74GB Western Digital Raptors in RAID0
500GB SATA-300 WD Drive
CoolerMaster RealPowerPro 850W
NZXT Zero full-tower case
Windows XP Pro SP2
 09/15/2005 12:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

although 40 something is fine... cooler = longevity

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
 11/11/2005 10:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lafingman0
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/11/2005

I have an amd 64 fx-55 w/ watercooling - my temps range from 52c/125f unloaded to 70c/158f loaded

im wondering if this is too hot or could be a source to my frequent lock ups (computer locks up for 10 seconds every hour or so) /wacko.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wacko.gif' />

the current setup i have had is: http://www.kjvclan.com/compy/purchased/' ">http://www.kjvclan.com/compy/purchased/ but the ram has been changed to protect the innocent /rolleyes.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='rolleyes.gif' />
 11/19/2005 07:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
terracesider
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/12/2005

Like MC, I've got an Athlon 64 3200, stock fan and heatsink. At boot the BIOS reports 35C and after XP startup it settles at 47-48C. It rises and falls between 47-60 depending on load. Under full load for an hour it slowly gets up to 62 or 63.

It's in a fairly small room and I reduced the temps by 5 or 6C simply by turing the heating off and opening a window. This is in the Northern UK in a very frosty November. Summer could be a problem.





 11/19/2005 10:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdgE 45
Senior Member

Posts: 729
Joined: 09/03/2005

I have a 3200 and it runs 28c idle and never seen it over 38c gaming /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

-------------------------
Amd 4400x2
asus a8n-sli premium
pc power 510
corsair twinx2048-3500LLpro
70gb wd 10,000x2
evga 7800gtx X-Fi Platinum
 11/19/2005 10:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
amd64NZ
Newbie

Posts: 48
Joined: 09/11/2004

i have a newcastle 3000 and now it idles at like 28-30deg and under load 35degrees max. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />



-------------------------
AMD X6 1090T @ stock
ASUS M4A88TD-M Evo/USB
4G Kingston 1600mhz CL8
Sapphire HD 6850 1G DDR 5 PCI-E GFX
650W Coolermaster Extreme power
Icute case with 2 120mm side face and 2 80mm exhaust fans.
 11/20/2005 02:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
flarkit
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/21/2005

QUOTE(terracesider @ Nov 19 2005, 02:32 PM)Like MC,  I've got an Athlon 64 3200,  stock fan and heatsink. At boot  the BIOS reports 35C and after XP startup it settles at 47-48C.  It rises and falls between   47-60 depending on load.  Under full load for an hour it slowly gets  up to 62 or 63.

It's in a fairly small room and I reduced the temps by 5 or 6C  simply by turing the heating off and opening a window. This is in the Northern UK in a very frosty November. Summer could be a problem.
[right][snapback]549583[/snapback][/right]


Yowch. It shouldn't be getting that hot, unless the ambient temps around the CPU are over 35degC.

1) Is your heating (air-conditioning) set to run higher than about 25degc? Opening a window to lower your temps by 5degC isn't an optimal solution /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

2) Does your PC's have decent internal airflow? This is quite important. Ensure that the internal wiring is not cluttered and therefore impeding airflow. Most cases came standard with at least a rear exhaust fan, which makes a difference.
 11/21/2005 10:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
reg_the_geza
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 11/06/2005

iam running an 3500+ with asus star ice cooler (will be changing to arctic cooling freezer pro 64, with AS5).
With cpu running 100% all day, using prime95 temp never goes above 48c
 11/21/2005 10:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dubbs
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 11/20/2005

Im running an 4400+ x2 and at idle I get 25-28C. Load 30-35C Max ive seen after hours of gaming is only 38C. I do have a zalman copper 7700 120mm Heatsink n fan though.. hehe
 11/21/2005 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
.DeFuZioN
Member

Posts: 49
Joined: 10/17/2005

my x2 3800+ idles at 24C and normal use 28C, gaming 38C.
 11/21/2005 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leexgx
Case Modder

Posts: 584
Joined: 07/06/2005

QUOTE(lafingman0 @ Nov 11 2005, 03:05 PM)I have an amd 64 fx-55 w/ watercooling - my temps range from 52c/125f unloaded to 70c/158f loaded

im wondering if this is too hot or could be a source to my frequent lock ups (computer locks up for 10 seconds every hour or so)  /wacko.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wacko.gif' />

the current setup i have had is: http://www.kjvclan.com/compy/purchased/' ">http://www.kjvclan.com/compy/purchased/  but the ram has been changed to protect the innocent  /rolleyes.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='rolleyes.gif' />
[right][snapback]543413[/snapback][/right]


all ways read the reviews first that users have posted (like Do not use the VGA cooler or its an Novelty item and other things) not sure if its good for cooling an FX chip

the air power be better then that one from what users have posted (like one of the orbe ones )

ir should never get to 60 with water cooling and idleing at 52 (are you sure its even fitted to the cpu)

-------------------------
Gameing > AMD64 5000+ X2 Black (OC 3.2ghz - 1.375v) > TK Big Typoon > Asus M2N32-SLI delux > 2.2gb 4gb Gell ram > NVIDIA 8800 GTX > X-FI

Server > phenom 9500 (OC 2.475ghz 1.3v)> 4gb ram > Asus M3A32-MVP> lots of disk space
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information