AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Socket 754 upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/03/2008 11:30 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/03/2008 11:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rollercoast19
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/03/2008

Hello everyone,
I have a AMD Mobile Sempron 3300+ processor (Socket 754)
I was wondering, what is the highest processor I can update too and would it be worth it?

Also, I have a ATi Mobile Radeon Xpress 200M (RS480). What is the highest I can update that to?

Thanks,
Brent

-------------------------
parity=communism
communism didn't work,
parity doesn't work
 01/06/2008 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rollercoast19
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/03/2008

Am I missing something obvious? Just wondering since no one is helping me.

-------------------------
parity=communism
communism didn't work,
parity doesn't work
 01/06/2008 09:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alexfort93
Elite

Posts: 2150
Joined: 10/09/2006

There are Mobile Athlon64 4000+s I think they would be the best.

-------------------------
MSI 790GX-G65| Phenom II X4 810 2.6GHz | Asetek 550LC | 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1333 | Asus 4870 | Seagate 640GB | WD 500GB | VX450 | Antec P180 | Windows 7 Premium 64-bit
 01/09/2008 02:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rollercoast19
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/03/2008

Athlon64, I am guessing that means 64-bit? What is the differences between 64-bit and what I have?

-------------------------
parity=communism
communism didn't work,
parity doesn't work
 01/09/2008 06:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alexfort93
Elite

Posts: 2150
Joined: 10/09/2006

Not sure if your current CPU is 64 bit or not, but it just allows you to use a 64 bit OS.

-------------------------
MSI 790GX-G65| Phenom II X4 810 2.6GHz | Asetek 550LC | 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1333 | Asus 4870 | Seagate 640GB | WD 500GB | VX450 | Antec P180 | Windows 7 Premium 64-bit
 01/16/2008 03:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

Your current CPU is 32-bit. Depending on the make of the motherboard, you could upgrade as far as the Athlon 64 3400+ DTR. DTR stands for Desktop Replacement and is made for laptops. I'm not certain a standard 3400+ would work.

You can't upgrade the 200m graphics on a notebook, it's welded to the motherboard. You can check for a newer driver on your manufacturer's website, right now I think the official Catalyst Drivers support Mobility Radeon 9600/9700 at the lowest, for laptop graphics.

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.
 01/16/2008 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alexfort93
Elite

Posts: 2150
Joined: 10/09/2006

Or, he can upgrade to the Mobile Athlon64 4000+ model.

-------------------------
MSI 790GX-G65| Phenom II X4 810 2.6GHz | Asetek 550LC | 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1333 | Asus 4870 | Seagate 640GB | WD 500GB | VX450 | Antec P180 | Windows 7 Premium 64-bit
 01/16/2008 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deaden
Member

Posts: 62
Joined: 11/07/2007

What's your motivation for an upgrade? Got a budget in mind?
 01/16/2008 04:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CharlieIsComing
Senior Member

Posts: 444
Joined: 01/15/2007

there was a socket 754 4000+? idk of that being acurate

-------------------------
No advertising. Do not use this site as a redirector or gateway to another site for the purpose of collecting click income or advertising.
 01/16/2008 04:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alexfort93
Elite

Posts: 2150
Joined: 10/09/2006

yes there were

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/L...C_90_nm.2C_62W_TDP.29

I've seen some forsale too.

-------------------------
MSI 790GX-G65| Phenom II X4 810 2.6GHz | Asetek 550LC | 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1333 | Asus 4870 | Seagate 640GB | WD 500GB | VX450 | Antec P180 | Windows 7 Premium 64-bit

Edited: 01/16/2008 at 04:48 PM by alexfort93
 01/16/2008 11:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

dang it, I can't delete this. It didn't seem to post the first time so I copy/pasted the text and added a little bit. Can a mod delete this unnecessary post or something?

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.

Edited: 01/16/2008 at 11:43 PM by Decembermouse
 01/16/2008 11:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

Wow, that is pretty sweet, I didn't know they had those. It really does depend on the motherboard though. Mine will apparently not recognize anything higher than the 3400+ even if it IS Socket 754. Download, install and run PC Wizard or some such to find out which mobo you have, then look it up.

[edit] Also, the 4000+ is a 90nm. Your Sempron is a different processor. My mobile 3400+ is a Clawhammer core, and the 4000+ is a Newark.

I'm not sure I'd even upgrade your laptop. With the 200m graphics it's not like you're going to get much gaming capability out of it, no matter how fast your processor is. I'd save the cash and maybe build a desktop. Honestly, looking back on it, I'm sorry I did what I did when it comes to computers. I built an OK desktop, and got a gaming laptop. I REALLY should have done it the other way around. Don't get me wrong, I love both machines, but desktops have lots more bang per buck than laptops; I did it completely opposite of what I should have. Just my $.02

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.

Edited: 01/16/2008 at 11:49 PM by Decembermouse
 01/17/2008 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Broattie
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 01/15/2008

In all reality it might be better if u replace the whole laptop, then shelling out money for a antiquated comp.
 01/17/2008 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

+1 to that. Keep this machine as a surfer or sell it, and start designing a new one. If you want gaming or performance of any kind, get a desktop...

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information