AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: power supply wattage for AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/17/2009 04:52 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/17/2009 04:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Skeptic9962
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/17/2009

Hello, im new to this site but basically im just looking to see if my system will still run off my 380w PSU or if i HAVE to upgrade it just on a budget and if i can get by without a new one that would be great...my current specs are:
Its a base HP desktop that ive added a few things in, about 2 yrs old or so.

curently has:
1.6Ghz Core 2 Duo
windows vista 32bit home premium
2gb mushkin PC2 5300 ram
250gb hitatchi hard drive
geforce 8600GT 512mb
antec 380w PSU

what i want to switch to:
also would get a Antec case with quite a bit of cooling fans in it.
and i would run the 2gb ram that i have and the new 2gb chip, once i had the money to upgrade to windows 7 64bit then ill get more ram....

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 140W Quad-Core Processor

ASUS M4A79 Deluxe AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard

mushkin 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Desktop Memory Model 991599

i looked at a few other sites and it seemed that 380w would be ok with my graphics card and the new processor but if i decided to go with a new card idd have to upgrade for sure but i would do that at a later date.

thanks in advance for the help
 10/17/2009 11:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Welcome

Looks like its going to be a nice system but why are you going with DDR2 ram?
I mean if you plan on keeping it for a wile why not upgrade to a AM3 board and DDR3 ram insted

Your building a all new system and your going to trust it to a two year old psu?
It would work but if it fails it could kill your new hardware just like that.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 10/17/2009 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

you planing to re use your gforce 8600 GT ?

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 10/17/2009 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Skeptic9962
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/17/2009

thanks for the replies, im basically just trying to upgrade the core units and then when i have the extra cash i can pick up a item at a time right now im on a pretty strict budget only have 500 bucks to put into it right now, the power supply is only about 8 months old at most i got it with the graphics card.....that motherboard says it supports AM3 and DDR 3...unless im mistaken

if u guys can reccomend a good processor,ram,graphics card, motherboard and case for under 500 that would be sweet too....but ive been looking at newegg and seems like for the price right now and quality the 965 is great, but the 965, that motherboard, and a 2 gig stick of ram is close to 500, if it supports DDR3 then couldnt i buy 1 2 gig stick of that and use my 2 gigs of DDR2 also? seems like the motherboard that im looking at supports all types of stuff....
 10/17/2009 02:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Skeptic9962
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/17/2009

well i looked it over a bit and found some good deals on combos....check this out and see if it seems like it will be a good setup,

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...ItemList=Combo.273337
-ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AM3 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard
-AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz


http://www.newegg.com/Product/...?Item=N82E16820145260
-CORSAIR XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...ItemList=Combo.265980
-Antec Three Hundred Illusion Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
-Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power ATX12V Ver.2.2

grand total of 497.79 and i get a good processor, DDR3 ram, PSU, decent case, only thing is this a good motherboard? seemed to have good reviews but u never know....let me know asap

thanks for the input
 10/17/2009 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

That ASUS mobo only has a 4-pin CPU power connector.
It will probably run the 955 at stock frequency, but I would recommend an 8-pin mobo for CPU overclocking stability.
Also the 125w CPU's need breathing room (good case airflow), I woud recommend a large mid or full size tower.
The 650w Antec is a decent PSU, but I would recommend one a little better like Corsair.
Memory: Go with G. Skill, Mushkin, or OCZ Reaper, Corsair is decent but these are better.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 10/17/2009 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Skeptic9962
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/17/2009

Gskill is the same price as the corsair so thats np, the case seemed to be fairly well vented i belive it has 6 built in fans on it and i plan on within the next few months after i get all of this installed, next step would be a graphics card, solid state HD, 64bit windows 7 and then liquid cooling system for it if need be....only thing is im trying to stay under 500 its kinda hard lol

Dont really plan on doing much overclocking...dont want to mess anything up and dont know much about it but who knows if i read into it i might want to lol so a mobo that would support that would be great too if i could find one about the same price....there is also one more question i have about my current system i plan on using the same HD that it has and has windows vista on it from the factory its a HP installed copy of vista will there be any problems or issues with that or will it be fine? if i have to reformat it its fine too....just want to know it will work with the new mobo and proc.

Edited: 10/17/2009 at 03:33 PM by Skeptic9962
 10/17/2009 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

the EA650 is an excellent PSU. but don't take my word for it.

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modul...ws&op=Story4&reid=110

http://www.techaddicts.net/reviews/ea650/ea650.html

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 10/18/2009 10:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Originally posted by: Skeptic9962

thanks for the replies, im basically just trying to upgrade the core units and then when i have the extra cash i can pick up a item at a time right now im on a pretty strict budget only have 500 bucks to put into it right now, the power supply is only about 8 months old at most i got it with the graphics card.....that motherboard says it supports AM3 and DDR 3...unless im mistaken



if u guys can reccomend a good processor,ram,graphics card, motherboard and case for under 500 that would be sweet too....but ive been looking at newegg and seems like for the price right now and quality the 965 is great, but the 965, that motherboard, and a 2 gig stick of ram is close to 500, if it supports DDR3 then couldnt i buy 1 2 gig stick of that and use my 2 gigs of DDR2 also? seems like the motherboard that im looking at supports all types of stuff....



The motherboard you picked out can support AM3 cpus but can only use DDR2.
And no you can't switch between the two. DDR3 wont fit in a DDR2 slot.

If you want to run DDR3 and stick with Asus than the M4A78T-E would be a good pick. It has every thing that M4A79 deluxe has but only has two PCI-E slots

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 10/18/2009 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Originally posted by: Skeptic9962

well i looked it over a bit and found some good deals on combos....check this out and see if it seems like it will be a good setup,



http://www.newegg.com/Product/...st=Combo.273337

-ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AM3 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard

-AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz





http://www.newegg.com/Product/...N82E16820145260

-CORSAIR XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)



http://www.newegg.com/Product/...st=Combo.265980

-Antec Three Hundred Illusion Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

-Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power ATX12V Ver.2.2



grand total of 497.79 and i get a good processor, DDR3 ram, PSU, decent case, only thing is this a good motherboard? seemed to have good reviews but u never know....let me know asap



thanks for the input


That list looks very good, the mid-tower should be fine, I've been running my PCs in a mid-tower for years, all of them overclocked, all of them 125-140W cpus.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/18/2009 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Skeptic9962
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/17/2009

http://www.newegg.com/Product/...N82E16813131402


slayer, i think your talking about the first mobo that i posted up....

thanks for all the input, my only thing is it shows on the memory standard that its DDR3 1800/1600/1333/1066, i looked at your mobo also seems like these 2 are almost the same....only difference is this one has a different lan card, no onboard graphics card, and a few port differences mainly due to it not having onboard gpu.

but for 10 bucks more might as well go with the M4A78T-E im planning on getting either a ATI 4770 or 5770....is the 50 dollar difference worth it for that jump?

also is the stock cooler on the CPU a decent one? if i decide to OC it at most idd go from 3.2 to 3.5ghz i guess just depending on how hot these run....

Edited: 10/18/2009 at 04:34 PM by Skeptic9962
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information