AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Athlon 64 4000+ AM2 512k Cache
Topic Summary: Is this a dual core?
Created On: 03/21/2009 12:52 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/21/2009 12:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bizzle1989
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/21/2009

Forgive my ignorance, I'm building a computer from scratch and I can't find anywhere that tells me if this is a dual core or not.

Thanks in advance for your help.
 03/21/2009 01:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Heffy
Case Modder

Posts: 625
Joined: 03/06/2008

Probably a single core Athlon 64. You can check whether it's the correct CPU I'm referring to by looking at the part number (ADA4000IAA4DH or ADA4000DHBOX). I guess it is, since the X2 versions have 1MB L2 cache.
 03/21/2009 01:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

ADO4000IAA5DD or ADO4000DDBOX One is the box partnumber and the other is the partnumber ontop of the cpu.

But the one i just listed is a 4000+ X2 with 512k cache 2.1Ghz

Edit: Here is the comparison in partnumbers and whatnot between the 2 4000+ cpu's that AMD makes, one is single core, and one is Dual core, both 512k cache.

http://products.amd.com/en-us/...ySide.aspx?id=82&id=60

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 03/21/2009 01:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bizzle1989
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/21/2009

I see, so there's really no way to tell by just saying ""AMD Athlon 64 4000+ AM2 512k Cache ""? Cause the website I'm trying to build a computer from (Magicmicro.com) only gives that information.
 03/21/2009 01:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

No because they offer 2 different versons of it.

Edit: I just looked at the site, and judging by the way all of the other listings are written, im gonna go with it being a single core.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 03/21/2009 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Normally if its only says Athlon 64 then it will be a single core, if its a dual core it should have the X2 included as part of the model specifications...!!

So:

Athlon 64 4000+ = single core
Athlon 64 X2 4000+ = dual core

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 03/22/2009 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
=assassin=
Senior Member

Posts: 558
Joined: 01/19/2005

Seems odd as the single core 4000+ was 2.4Ghz with 1Mb cache :S So they both have total cache the same, only difference is X2 is 2x512kb.

-------------------------
 03/22/2009 12:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

The X2 4200+ is only $4 extra on that site so I would go with that if you are on tight budget, at least its definitely an X2 dual core.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information